2020 Scholarship

Applications for 2020 Rachel Krevans Scholarship are closed. We will announce our 2020 scholarship recipient on May 15.  

For questions please email info@chipsnetwork.org

Award & Requirements

2020 scholarship award: 

  • $5,000

To qualify, applicants must:

  • Identify as a woman
  • Be enrolled at a U.S. law school
  • Be entering her third or subsequent year
  • Be academically qualified
  • Demonstrate commitment to advancing and connecting women in technology, law and policy.
  • Demonstrate an interest in pursuing IP


ChIPs established the Rachel Krevans Scholarship in 2018 to encourage women to pursue careers in intellectual property law. The award is awarded annually to an academically qualified female law student entering her third or subsequent year who has demonstrated an interest in IP law and a commitment to ChIPs’ mission of advancing and connecting women in technology, law and policy. The award is paid to the student’s school to be used on tuition.

Krevans was a renowned intellectual property litigator at Morrison & Foerster LLP whose career spanned nearly three decades of groundbreaking trials and high-profile patent disputes. She was repeatedly recognized as a top IP litigator and a leader in tech law. She was passionately dedicated to the advancement, promotion and retention of women in tech and IP fields. Krevans served on the ChIPs Law Firm Advisory board at ChIPs and was inducted into the ChIPs Hall of Fame in 2014.

Past Scholarship Recipients

Leslie Diaz

Awarded: 2019

Leslie Diaz

The University of California, Berkeley, School of Law

Laura Ashley Harris

Awarded: 2018

Laura Ashley Harris

Georgetown University Law Center

ChIPs Scholarship Committee